Official Starting Eleven

England will have the chance to exact some revenge on their World Cup conquerors on Friday when they take on Croatia at the HNK Rijeka Stadium in a match which will be played behind closed doors.

Both teams will be looking for their first points of the UEFA Nations League campaign having each lost to fellow League A Group Four rivals Spain last month.

Team News

Of the seven potential England debutants and four first-time call-ups to this squad, none have enjoyed as much hype as Sancho.

The Borussia Dortmund man has been in sparkling form so far this season with nine assists in just 10 appearances, and he is already being linked with a move back to the Premier League as a result.

Lewis Dunk, Mason Mount and James Maddison have also been named in the squad for the first time, meanwhile, with the latter perhaps most likely to start from that quartet.

James Tarkowski, Luke Shaw, Danny Rose and McCarthy have been forced to withdraw from the squad, while England are also without the likes of Dele Alli, Jesse Lingard and Ashley Young.


Team to play Croatia: Pickford, Walker, Stones, Maguire, Chilwell, Dier, Henderson, Barkley, Sterling, Rashford, Kane.

Subs: Trippier, Butland, Alexander-Arnold, Dunk, Winks, Chalobah, Mount, Maddison, Bettinelli, Sancho.


Team to play England: Luvakovic, Lovren, Vida, Jedvaj, Pivaric, Kovacic, Modric, Rakitic, Perisic, Rebic, Kramaric.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.